Grafton Public Library

Library Updates

Free Comic Book Day! Saturday, May 7

Posted by switham on

Drop in Saturday, May 7 to choose a comic from our free selection (while supplies last)!

As the name implies, Free Comic Book Day is a single day when participating comic book specialty shops across North America and around the world give away comic books absolutely free to anyone who comes into their shops, or in this case, the Grafton Public Library.

Preview the selection here. (Not all titles may be available.)

Love comics and graphic novels? Read even more titles online for free with your Library card at ComicsPlus!

No comments

Library to Host “Getting to Know Your Ukulele” class with Apple Tree Arts

Posted by switham on

The Library is offering a 4-week class session titled “Getting to Know Your Ukulele.” This class will be taught by Jan Barlow of Apple Tree Arts and is for beginners ages 13 and up – teens and adults. The classes will be held from 6:30-7:30 p.m. Tuesday May 10, 17, 24 and 31, and will meet at One Grafton Common, Grafton, MA. This free class is limited to 12 participants. Participants need to bring a ukulele to the class. The Library has 4 ukuleles available to check out for the course of the session and the instructor also has 1 ukulele for loan. Please stop by the Library or call 508-839-4649 to register for this program and reserve a ukulele.

No comments

Teen Art: Emoji Magnets

Posted by switham on

Create your own or turn your favorite emojis into a magnet for your locker.

Saturday, April 9 from 1-3 pm.  This program is free for teens in grades 6-12. All supplies will be provided.

Please register for this program online or call 508-839-4649.

No comments

Teen Program: Cookie Decorating – YUM!

Posted by switham on

Celebrate the holidays by decorating cookies!

This free program is for teens in grades 6-12. All supplies will be provided.

Space is limited! Sign up in the library or by emailing the teen librarian.

No comments

Upcoming Movie Nights for Teens

Posted by switham on

 

Teens get Movie Nights just for them –
We will be showing Mockingjay Part 1 (PG 13) Thursday November 19 at 6:30 pm.
Mockingjay Part 2 will be in theaters on Friday, November 20th. If you missed the first part, need a refresher, or just love the movie, come and see Part 1 at the library.
Popcorn and drinks will be served.

 

Then join us for Jurassic World (PG 13) Tuesday November 24 at 6:30 pm

Popcorn and drinks will be served.

These free Movie Nights are for teens in grades 6-12. Sign up in the library or by emailing the teen librarian, acusher@cwmars.org

 

No comments

Ukulele Class in October with Jan Barlow of Apple Tree arts

Posted by switham on

The Grafton Public Library is offering a 4 week class session titled “Getting to Know Your Ukulele.” This class will be taught by Jan Barlow of Apple Tree Arts and is for beginners ages 9 and up (that includes teens and adults too!). The classes will be held from 6:30-7:30 p.m. every Tuesday in October beginning October 6th and will meet at the Congregational Church of Grafton, 30 Grafton Common, Grafton, MA. This free class is limited to 8 participants. Participants need to bring a ukulele to the class. The Library has 4 ukuleles available to check out for the course of the session and the instructor also has 1 ukulele for loan. Please stop by the Library or call 508-839-4649 to register for this program and reserve a ukulele.

1 commment

Friends Announce “Why Do We Need A Library?” Essay Contest

Posted by bethg on

The Friends of the Grafton Public Library invite you to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) to share your thoughts about libraries. In 500 words or less, tell us why we need a library. The contest runs September 8-30.

Essays and poems will be judged on originality and persuasiveness by a panel of community leaders and Friends of the Grafton Public Library members. Prize winners and runner ups will be awarded in each of three age categories: Elementary School (children in grades 1-6); Middle & High School (grades 7-12), and Adult (age 18 and over).

One winner will be selected from each age group to receive a $25 gift card of choice and the opportunity to read their poem or essay for GCTV. Each category will also have a runner-up who will receive a $10 Down Under gift card. Prizes are generously donated by the Friends of the Grafton Public Library. Winning entries will be posted on the Library’s website (graftonlibrary.org) after October 4, 2015.

2015 Friends of the Grafton Public Library Essay Contest Entry Form-Cover Sheets are available for pick up at the Library.

No comments

Teen Comic Con Event

Posted by switham on

Meet teens from all over the Blackstone Valley! This event is for fans of Comic Books, Graphic Novels, and Anime! The event will include:
• Dress in your favorite COSPLAY costume for the costume contest
• Comic Artist Eric Fulford from Providence will be giving a comic artist workshop
• Friendly Neighborhood Comics will have comic books and graphic novels for purchase, as well as free giveaways.
There will be pizza, snacks, prizes, and a comic craft contest, and photo booth.
This event is for students ages 13-18 and is closed to the public.
To register for this event, please contact Allison Cusher at the Grafton Public Library by calling 508-839-4649 or emailing acusher@cwmars.org

No comments

Programs Relocated to Municipal Center

Posted by acusher on

As you may have noticed there is construction going on in the library. While our walls get repaired from ice damaged that happened over the winter some of our programs are moving offsite to allow the repair work to get done.

The following programs will be held on the 2nd floor (either room E-2 or 33) of the Municipal Center (30 Providence Road):

Thank you for your patience and understanding.

 

No comments

Magic the Gathering Tournament…

Posted by switham on

Join us for a Magic The Gathering tournament!

Not sure how to play? Join us at 4pm to learn how to play. You can bring your own deck or use the library’s.

The tournament will begin at 5pm. It will be a standard tournament, so bring your standard decks. (Or you can use the library’s deck if it’s your first time.)

Tournament prizes are Dragons of Tarkir booster packs: 3 for 1st place, 2 for 2nd place, and 1 for 3rd place.

Pizza and snacks will be served. This free program is for teens in grades 6-12.

Sign up in the library or by emailing the teen librarian.

No comments