Grafton Public Library

Library Updates

ON YOUR MARK, GET SET… READ! Summer Library Adventure Begins June 20

Posted by bethg on

On Your Mark_EL purple01

 

 

 

 

 

 

ON YOUR MARK, GET SET…READ! Summer Reading 2016 at the Grafton Public Library!

ALL YOU NEED TO KNOW is on our Summer Reading 2016 Full Calendar! Download for info on programs, prizes, earning tickets, Food for Fines!

The 2016 Summer Reading Program hosted by the Grafton Public Library has an EXERCISE theme this year! All ages are encouraged to participate.

Registration begins June 1. Register by picking up a Summer Reading tote bag – it’s that easy!! The tote will be filled with a calendar of events, bookmarks, current list of museum passes, and in the children’s bags an IOU for a Davis Farmland pass.

After registering, you can earn raffle tickets for amazing cool prizes! Winners will be chosen in three age groups: adult, teen and kids. Winning is as easy as 1-2-3!

  1. Earn 1 raffle ticket for each day you visit the Library
  2. Earn 2 raffle tickets for each food item you donate to the Grafton Food Bank (Max of 20 tickets/10 items per person)
  3. Earn 3 raffle tickets for each Library program you attend

Prizes: Oh boy, the PRIZES!!! Grand Prize – Winner’s Choice from one of the following prizes:

       or          or      or    

Check out ALL of the prizes on the GPL Summer 2016 Full Calendar of Events!!

Food for Fines: Donate to the Grafton Food Bank instead of paying your overdue fines this summer! The Library will accept non-perishable, unexpired food, toiletries and school supplies from June 20 – August 31 in lieu of fines. Food for Fines may not be used to pay for lost or missing materials, printing or faxing fees, or replacement library cards.

Grafton Public Library supports Grafton Public Schools – stop in for your summer reading titles!

Sponsors:  The 2016 MA Statewide Summer Reading Program is sponsored by the Grafton Public Library, the Friends of the Grafton Public Library, the Town of Grafton, the Grafton Recreation Department, Trek Stop, Apple Tree Arts, Willard House & Clock Museum, the Massachusetts Library System, the Boston Bruins, and the Massachusetts Board of Library Commissioners.

 

 

No comments

Teen Movie Night: 5th Wave

Posted by switham on

Four waves of increasingly deadly alien attacks have left most of Earth decimated. Cassie is on the run, desperately trying to save her younger brother. Rated PG-13.

Popcorn and snacks will be served.

This free program is for teens in grades 6-12.  Please register for this program.

No comments

Free Comic Book Day! Saturday, May 7

Posted by switham on

Drop in Saturday, May 7 to choose a comic from our free selection (while supplies last)!

As the name implies, Free Comic Book Day is a single day when participating comic book specialty shops across North America and around the world give away comic books absolutely free to anyone who comes into their shops, or in this case, the Grafton Public Library.

Preview the selection here. (Not all titles may be available.)

Love comics and graphic novels? Read even more titles online for free with your Library card at ComicsPlus!

No comments

Library to Host “Getting to Know Your Ukulele” class with Apple Tree Arts

Posted by switham on

The Library is offering a 4-week class session titled “Getting to Know Your Ukulele.” This class will be taught by Jan Barlow of Apple Tree Arts and is for beginners ages 13 and up – teens and adults. The classes will be held from 6:30-7:30 p.m. Tuesday May 10, 17, 24 and 31, and will meet at One Grafton Common, Grafton, MA. This free class is limited to 12 participants. Participants need to bring a ukulele to the class. The Library has 4 ukuleles available to check out for the course of the session and the instructor also has 1 ukulele for loan. Please stop by the Library or call 508-839-4649 to register for this program and reserve a ukulele.

No comments

Teen Art: Emoji Magnets

Posted by switham on

Create your own or turn your favorite emojis into a magnet for your locker.

Saturday, April 9 from 1-3 pm.  This program is free for teens in grades 6-12. All supplies will be provided.

Please register for this program online or call 508-839-4649.

No comments

Teen Program: Cookie Decorating – YUM!

Posted by switham on

Celebrate the holidays by decorating cookies!

This free program is for teens in grades 6-12. All supplies will be provided.

Space is limited! Sign up in the library or by emailing the teen librarian.

No comments

Upcoming Movie Nights for Teens

Posted by switham on

 

Teens get Movie Nights just for them –
We will be showing Mockingjay Part 1 (PG 13) Thursday November 19 at 6:30 pm.
Mockingjay Part 2 will be in theaters on Friday, November 20th. If you missed the first part, need a refresher, or just love the movie, come and see Part 1 at the library.
Popcorn and drinks will be served.

 

Then join us for Jurassic World (PG 13) Tuesday November 24 at 6:30 pm

Popcorn and drinks will be served.

These free Movie Nights are for teens in grades 6-12. Sign up in the library or by emailing the teen librarian, acusher@cwmars.org

 

No comments

Ukulele Class in October with Jan Barlow of Apple Tree arts

Posted by switham on

The Grafton Public Library is offering a 4 week class session titled “Getting to Know Your Ukulele.” This class will be taught by Jan Barlow of Apple Tree Arts and is for beginners ages 9 and up (that includes teens and adults too!). The classes will be held from 6:30-7:30 p.m. every Tuesday in October beginning October 6th and will meet at the Congregational Church of Grafton, 30 Grafton Common, Grafton, MA. This free class is limited to 8 participants. Participants need to bring a ukulele to the class. The Library has 4 ukuleles available to check out for the course of the session and the instructor also has 1 ukulele for loan. Please stop by the Library or call 508-839-4649 to register for this program and reserve a ukulele.

1 commment

Friends Announce “Why Do We Need A Library?” Essay Contest

Posted by bethg on

The Friends of the Grafton Public Library invite you to put pen to paper (or fingers to keyboard) to share your thoughts about libraries. In 500 words or less, tell us why we need a library. The contest runs September 8-30.

Essays and poems will be judged on originality and persuasiveness by a panel of community leaders and Friends of the Grafton Public Library members. Prize winners and runner ups will be awarded in each of three age categories: Elementary School (children in grades 1-6); Middle & High School (grades 7-12), and Adult (age 18 and over).

One winner will be selected from each age group to receive a $25 gift card of choice and the opportunity to read their poem or essay for GCTV. Each category will also have a runner-up who will receive a $10 Down Under gift card. Prizes are generously donated by the Friends of the Grafton Public Library. Winning entries will be posted on the Library’s website (graftonlibrary.org) after October 4, 2015.

2015 Friends of the Grafton Public Library Essay Contest Entry Form-Cover Sheets are available for pick up at the Library.

No comments

Teen Comic Con Event

Posted by switham on

Meet teens from all over the Blackstone Valley! This event is for fans of Comic Books, Graphic Novels, and Anime! The event will include:
• Dress in your favorite COSPLAY costume for the costume contest
• Comic Artist Eric Fulford from Providence will be giving a comic artist workshop
• Friendly Neighborhood Comics will have comic books and graphic novels for purchase, as well as free giveaways.
There will be pizza, snacks, prizes, and a comic craft contest, and photo booth.
This event is for students ages 13-18 and is closed to the public.
To register for this event, please contact Allison Cusher at the Grafton Public Library by calling 508-839-4649 or emailing acusher@cwmars.org

No comments